Tim Kromer vlogs up YouTube-styled storm

“Today I only got 316 views, yesterday I got 325!” The excitement within senior Tim Kromer‘s voice is unbearably contagious. As a student turn DJ and vlogger, the high energy of his voice is a sure attention-drawer as his Snapchat username (@k6crew) spreads like wildfire throughout the high school and neighboring districts.

In fact, spending any amount of time with Kromer it is undeniable the passion he holds for sharing his day-to-day life with his following. Vlogging is this generation’s new form of a blog, and is highly more interconnecting than a website of stories and pictures. Vloggers are free to shape their atmosphere about whatever they desire, regardless of how esoteric or controversial, which gives them a chance to make their voice heard.

“I just thought it would be a fun thing when I started, and then I kept going- now it has become more and more fun as I do it,” said Kromer.

Not many students within the district share such a great motivation to put themselves out there, such as how Kromer has done. However, his ecstatic and seething will to place his Nexus 5X in front of his face was not entirely a brainstormed idea, rather an inspiration.

Kromer’s eyes lit up as he elaborated, “Casey Neistat [a YouTube vlogger] is of huge interest to me. I started watching his Snapchats and how he was forcing himself to be creative on a daily basis, and then that sort of got me going.”

“Casey Neistat [a YouTube vlogger] is of huge interest to me. I started watching his Snapchats and how he was forcing himself to be creative on a daily basis, and then that sort of got me going.” -Tim Kromer

“I started talking to one of the tech teachers at the junior high, asking if she would do a tech talk with me. Instead I found this passion for daily vlogs. So after talking to her I realized my inspiration, and just got the ball rolling,” Kromer added with a chuckle.

Connecting with the audience is a huge element to vlogging, and undoubtedly the sound of Kromer’s excitement is bound to catch the attention of a student or two when the infamous Snapchat stories are tapped on.

Platform, however was not a choice for Kromer.

With a mindful sway to his hands, Kromer explained, “I haven’t had the time to sculpt a YouTube channel, that is why I like Snapchat- it is easier for now. Once I find another device, get a camera or get a MacBook pro- something better than a Chromebook, which is what I have right now, then I plan on moving to YouTube.

The following he has racked up within the district enjoys the easy accessibility of his stories. The Snapchat platform, which allows viewers to click through 10 second videos (which expire within 24 hours) provides a quick way to watch and go.

Senior Zach Toohey and occasional vlog watcher said, “I definitely think it is efficient for him to use this platform- he can reach so many people with little to no effort.”

“I definitely think it is efficient for him to use this platform- he can reach so many people with little to no effort.” –Zach Toohey

“Snapchat is building all the hype up, and then once I hit YouTube, it’ll be like a big huge drop. Hopefully it works,” Kromer added with faith.

Not t0 fear however, Kromer’s vlogs will remain on the Snapchat interface as well, even if he moves on to YouTube. His large inspiration, Casey Neistat, a YouTube personality, filmmaker, and co-founder of social media company Beme, has consistently stuck to his Snapchat roots- because that is what gained him the following in the first place.

In his recent Q & A, Kromer explained, ” I love sharing a story and portraying an interesting part of my life,” the very thing that has motivated the vlogging business since day one and Kromer is bound to make a name of himself.

Senior Kade Korn said, “In all honesty I enjoy seeing Tim so happy being able to vlog. I’ll tease him here and there but at the end of the day Tim is a great guy who will undoubtedly find great happiness in the years to come.”

“I just think there is a reason why I am on this earth, God sent me to do this, and I am going to do it for the glory of him.” –Tim Kromer

Upon pursuing this new passion along with his DJing, it is hard to imagine that Kromer would not want to self promote a little as well, however he believes, “I just think there is a reason why I am on this earth, God sent me to do this, and I am going to do it for the glory of him.”

Devoting some attention to his religious believes holds of deep importance to him, and the prime understanding that not all glory is to himself is one way Kromer stays humble.

Religious beliefs are not something that have been historically brought about within vlogs, primarily due to the fact that the generation whom is appealing to this new wave of sharing is also a highly opinionated crowd. In example, large YouTube names such as Neistat, or Tanner Fox or Jenna Marbles choose not to share their beliefs in hopes of preserving their following.

Kromer however, who has not received, “a negative comment yet,” has a different agenda.

“People say ‘hey don’t you put your religion in your vlog- this isn’t a political or religious vlog’ and if you do you’ll get all this hate. But that’s giving into the pressure of the people.” Kromer highlighted with a fleck of seriousness.

Lastly, a large part to vlogging is whether or not education can serve as a relevant use of time, when vloggers such as Neistat have grown to a net worth of $1.5 million since hitting YouTube.

This statistic kicked Kromer into gear. The passion for his work rung across his eyes as he moved his hands in his peculiar, yet seemingly explaining way.

“If you have the chance and you have the money to be able to make a living off your talents and your gifts- for example this vlogging camera which is just a phone- if that takes off, chase after it. Go after it. Pursue it.” –Tim Kromer

“If you have the chance and you have the money to be able to make a living off your talents and your gifts- for example this vlogging camera which is just a phone- if that takes off, chase after it. Go after it. Pursue it. Because at the end of the day, you might go to college, but you’re going to come out with debt, and Casey didn’t even go to college and look at him- he’s a millionaire,” Kromer elaborated.

The vlogs that Kromer posts not only have gathered a great following, but have placed him in this homely community of vloggers. Furthermore, while also creating a sense of community within Stillwater Kromer has united friends from far and few to smile and feel the joyous energy from him expressing his passion.

And just in the same spirited voice that all his viewers love, Kromer ended off on, “Your experiences are going to be everything.”

Leave a Reply

